Celebrating IWD! Inspirational Women of WGU & their stories #5

This blog series will feature the stories we collected and hopefully empower more women out there to be bold and make a change!

Wrexham Glyndŵr University held an International Women’s Day campaign last month. As well as giving away #PressForProgress goody bags and yummy cakes, we collected stories from some inspirational role models in celebration of women.

Here’s Lesley’s story:

rr

Lesley Griffiths, Assembly Member for Wrexham

‘In my role as Assembly Member for Wrexham and in all of my ministerial roles, I have ensured women’s voices are heard. For example, in my current role I work with women in the agriculture sector, making sure they are part of the decision making process.

 

Having been a member of the Welsh Government for eight years, I am proud of the legislation I have developed including the Human Transplantation Act, Food Hygiene Ratings Act, Housing Act and Violence Against Women, Domestic Abuse and Sexual Violence Act.

 

In Wrexham I have ensured I have been involved in many local organisations as Patron and in an enabling role, such as Welsh Women’s Aid. I have also visited all schools, FE College’s and the University in Wrexham to make sure children and young people understand the democratic process and the importance and relevance of politics in their lives.

 
International Women’s Day means a celebration of all that women have achieved, empowering young women like my two daughters and making sure women know and understand they are capable of undertaking any role or job, whilst also recognising the many barriers and obstacles many women still face.’

 

If you enjoyed this story, please keep checking in @zoneglyndwr for more in the series!

Come and visit us in the Zone Enterprise Hub at Wrexham Glyndŵr University for tailored business start-up advice and guidance. Contact us via telephone: 01978 293297.

Keep up to date with the latest news and events via our Twitter page: @zoneglyndwr
#BeTheSpark

 

 

 

Leave a comment